Blog Entries

Public Lecture: Chinese Christians and the Path to Liberal Modernity in China


As part of our ongoing joint lecture series with ERRChina and the US-China Catholic Association (USCCA), ERRChina will be hosting the autumn lecture on November 14. John Barwick, lecturer in the Department of History at Cornell University will be giving the lecture titled, Chinese Christians and the Path to Liberal Modernity in China.

Barwick’s work centers on how Chinese society has engaged with the modern world in the 19th and 20th centuries and how it has built its own notion of Chinese identity. He is particularly interested in the role that religion plays in negotiating notions of modernity.

For those of you in the Oakland, CA area, you can attend the lecture in-person at the Beulah Chapel at Home of Peace. The rest of us can register to participate online via Zoom.

Here are the details:

In Person

Beulah Chapel at Home of Peace
4700 Daisy Street
Oakland, California 94619

Online

Sun, Nov 14 / 4pm-6pm (US PST)
Sun, Nov 14 / 7pm-9pm (US EST)
Mon, Nov 15 / 8am-10am (China)

More details and registration can be found on the ERRChina website.

This event is being hosted by China Academic Consortium (ERRChina) and co-hosted by USCCA and ChinaSource. We hope to see you there, either in person or online.

Joann Pittman

Joann Pittman

Joann Pittman is Vice President of Partnership and China Engagement and editor of ZGBriefs. Prior to joining ChinaSource, Joann spent 28 years working in China, as an English teacher, language student, program director, and cross-cultural trainer for organizations and businesses engaged in China. She has also taught Chinese at the University …View Full Bio


Are you enjoying a cup of good coffee or fragrant tea while reading the latest ChinaSource post? Consider donating the cost of that “cuppa” to support our content so we can continue to serve you with the latest on Christianity in China.

Donate