Blog Entries

Online Event: The Vessel Overturned

Current Views on Hong Kong Christian Civic Life


On February 25, the US-China Catholic Association (USCCA) will be hosting an online event that is part of the joint lecture series sponsored by USCCA, ChinaSource, and ERRChina. This will be the first of three lectures that we have planned for 2021. 

The title of the lecture is “The Vessel Overturned: Current Views on Hong Kong Christian Civic Life“, presented by Dr. Lida Nedilsky, Professor of Sociology at North Park University and author of two books on Christianity in Hong Kong and greater China. 

Here is a more detailed description of the lecture: 

In Hong Kong beginning in March 2019, yet another movement gained momentum, this time to protest a bill that would allow extradition of suspects to jurisdictions with which Hong Kong did not have an extradition agreement, including Mainland China. The US media portrayed this unrest from an angle that lionized young people on a tiny island enclave struggling against an overbearing Goliath. However, on the ground, the perspectives were more nuanced. Within the Christian community, opinions varied regarding how far to take the protests, and how much support churches should lend. The divisions left a lasting mark. Sociologist Lida Nedilsky, who has followed the involvement of Catholics and Protestants in Hong Kong’s civic life of throughout her career, will step back to lend insightful perspective regarding the contributions of Hong Kong Christians to the territory’s civic culture, the impact this involvement has had on the churches, and the unfolding implications of the current crackdown pursued by Beijing.

The lecture will be held on Thursday, February 25, 2021, at  5 pm Pacific / 6 pm Mountain / 7 pm Central / 8 pm Eastern time. 

Please go here to register for this free online event. 

Joann Pittman

Joann Pittman

Joann Pittman is Vice President of Partnership and China Engagement and editor of ZGBriefs. Prior to joining ChinaSource, Joann spent 28 years working in China, as an English teacher, language student, program director, and cross-cultural trainer for organizations and businesses engaged in China. She has also taught Chinese at the University …View Full Bio


Are you enjoying a cup of good coffee or fragrant tea while reading the latest ChinaSource post? Consider donating the cost of that “cuppa” to support our content so we can continue to serve you with the latest on Christianity in China.

Donate